We've Moved - https://cdph.ca.gov/

Welcome to the State of California 

Laboratory Field Services (LFS) has moved! Please visit the new LFS website at https://www.cdph.ca.gov/Programs/OSPHLD/LFS/Pages/Home.aspx

Renewal of Personnel Licenses and Certificates

We are now processing applications for renewals of licenses and certificates that expire in April. 

California law requires license and certificate holders to renew California licenses and certificates every two years. Renewal of national certification is optional, and can only be done by contacting the national certifying organization directly.

Continuing Education Requirements 

Phlebotomy Certificates

Limited Phlebotomy Technician (LPT) and Certified Phlebotomy Technicians (CPT I and CPT II) must complete a total of 6 contact hours of continuing education provided by a Department-approved accrediting agency or an accredited academic institution.

Clinical Laboratory Personnel Licenses

All licensed clinical laboratory personnel (including cytotechnologists, medical laboratory technicians, scientists, and directors) must complete a total of 24 contact hours of continuing education provided by a Department-approved accrediting agency or an accredited academic institution. 

 How to Renew Personnel Licenses and Certificates 

  • Complete the required number of continuing education credits during the 24 months prior to the expiration date of the license or certificate. (See the continuing education requirements above.)
  • Complete all sections of the LAB 177 form, and sign and date the form. Incomplete forms will be returned to applicants. 
  • Include a check or money order for the non-refundable renewal fee, made payable to the California Department of Public Health. Be sure to write your license or certificate number on the check. Click here to view the schedule of renewal fees.
  • Mail the LAB 177 form and payment to:

California Department of Public Health
Accounting Section / Cashiering Unit
MS 1601, PO Box 997376
Sacramento, CA 95899-7376

  • Keep a copy of your renewal packet for yourself.

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)

How will I know when it is time to renew my license or certificate?

Renewal notices are sent to license and certificate holders approximately 120 days prior to the expiration dates of their licenses or certificates. You can search for your license or certificate expiration dates on the LFS license and certificate verification page.

How soon should I send in my renewal request?

Do not send your renewal application or payment more than 120 days before the expiration of your license or certificate. Our system is unable to process renewals more than 120 days before the license or certificate expiration date, and your application may be misdirected or rejected if it is sent too soon.

It takes a median time of 90 days following the receipt of a complete renewal application to process the application and issue the license or certificate. To ensure that your renewal is processed before the expiration of your license or certificate, a complete renewal package (LAB 177, including a list of all continuing education courses, and fee) must be sent at least 90 days prior to the license or expiration date. An incomplete or incorrect application will delay the processing of the application.

How will I know if my renewal request has been approved?

After an application has been approved, the approval is posted on the LFS license and certificate verification page, which updates every two business days; a screen print of this notice can be used as temporary proof of license or certification until you receive your hard copy by mail. The screen print must be attached to you license or certificate. Licenses and certificates arrive within two to six weeks.

Who can I contact if I have questions regarding the renewal process?

You can contact the LFS Personnel Licensing staff by email at LFSRenewals@cdph.ca.gov 


Last modified on: 9/18/2017 7:32 PM